Public Invited to Participate in Review of OurWinnipeg, the City's 25-year Plan for the Future

September 08, 2017

Councillor John Orlikow invites Winnipeggers to participate in the review and update of OurWinnipeg, the city's 25-year development plan. Winnipeggers are encouraged to get involved and speak up about what matters to them about the city in order to make Winnipeg an even better place to live, work and play.

“It’s crucial that members of the public help shape our city’s strategic priorities and development plans,” said Councillor John Orlikow, Chair of the Standing Policy Committee on Property and Development, Heritage and Downtown Development. “The review of OurWinnipeg presents an exciting opportunity for us to connect with the public and listen to their ideas for our city in the long-term.”

Over the next 18 months there will be many opportunities for the public to participate:

  • SpeakUpWinnipeg will serve as an online hub, and will allow Winnipeggers to participate in blogs and surveys, and learn more about the OurWinnipeg review. The OurWinnipeg team will share information and report back to the public on what they heard from the community and learned from background research.
  • The OurWinnipeg team will be attending community events and venues across the city to ask Winnipeggers to share their vision for the future of the city. Pop up event information is posted at
  • The OurWinnipeg team wants to see the city through Winnipeggers’ eyes to understand what residents value and hope for. Residents are encouraged to share pictures of places or infrastructure that you would like to see more or less of with a short description to  or on social media using the hashtag #speakupwpg.  
  • The public will also be invited to participate in face-to-face public forums and events.

Community Advisory Committee
Following a call for applications this spring, 14 members have been chosen to participate on the OurWinnipegCommunity Advisory Committee. The Committee willadvise the OurWinnipeg team on community-based issues, public engagement activities, and other OurWinnipeg related issues. They will also help encourage participation and representation from as many networks and community members as possible throughout the OurWinnipegprocess.

The 14 members selected for the committee are:

  • Mohammad Almaleki
  • Eddie Ayoub
  • Michael Carruthers
  • Jino Distasio
  • Aleeza Gerstein
  • Denise Greyeyes
  • Ron Hambley
  • Curt Hull
  • Christina Maes Nino
  • Beth McKechnie
  • Hannah Moffatt
  • Alexa Potashnik
  • Dayna Spiring
  • Lisa Spring

Committee member biographies available at

For more information about OurWinnipeg and OurWinnipeg review activities, please visit